Tips for Deleting Unwanted Facebook Photos

Portrait smiling senior man using digital tablet
Deleting unwanted Facebook photos is easy. Caiaimage/Sam Edwards / Getty Images

Deleting photos from Facebook can be more complicated than it seems since there's an option to hide images without actually removing them. Facebook does, however, let you permanently delete any of your images and even entire albums full of photos.

Below are the different types of photos you might run into on Facebook and how to delete them.

Deleting Photos from Facebook

Profile Picture

This is the image you choose to represent yourself at the top of your timeline/profile page, which also appears as a small icon next to your messages and status updates in your friends' news feeds.

  1. Click your profile image.
  2. At the very bottom of the full-size picture, choose Options.
  3. Click Delete This Photo.

Important: If you want to just change your profile image without actually deleting it, hover your mouse over the profile photo and click Update Profile Picture. You can choose an image you already have on Facebook, upload a new one from your computer or take a brand new photo with a webcam.

Cover Photo

The Cover Photo is the large horizontal banner image you can display on the top of your timeline/profile page. The smaller profile picture is inset into the bottom of the Cover Photo.

It's easy to delete your Facebook Cover Photo:

  1. Hover your mouse over the Cover Photo.
  2. Choose the button called Update Cover Photo at the top left.
  3. Select Remove....
  4. Click Confirm.

If you want to just change your Cover Photo to be a different image, return to Step 2 above and then select Choose From My Photos to pick a different image you already have on your account, or Upload Photo... to add a new one from your computer.

Photo Albums

These are groupings of photos that you have created and are accessible from your Timeline/profile area. People can browse them when they visit your Timeline, provided you have given them access.

  1. Find the right photo album by going to your profile and choose Photos.
  2. Select Albums.
  3. Open the album you want to remove.
  1. Click the small settings icon next to the Edit button.
  2. Choose Delete Album.
  3. Confirm by clicking Delete Album again.

Note that you can not delete albums that were created by Facebook like the Profile Pictures, Cover Photos and Mobile Uploads albums. You can, however, delete individual pictures inside those albums by opening the picture to its full size and navigating to Options > Delete This Photo.

Photos as Updates

Individual photos that you uploaded to Facebook by attaching them to a status update are stored in their own album called Timeline Photos.

  1. Access Timeline Photos by going to your profile and choosing Photos.
  2. Select Albums.
  3. Click Timeline Photos.
  4. Open the image you want to remove.
  5. Click the Options link at the bottom of the picture.
  6. Choose Delete This Photo.

If you want to remove the picture without going into the album, you can just find the status update and open the image there, and then return to Step 5 above.

Hiding Photos From Your Timeline

You can also hide photos you've been tagged in to prevent people from seeing them on your Timeline.

  1. Open the picture.
  2. On the right side, above any tags and comments, choose Allowed on Timeline.
  3. In the drop-down menu, select Hidden from Timeline.

You can find all the photos you've been tagged in through Activity Log > Photos You're Tagged In.

Deleting Photo Tags

If you don't want people to easily find photos you've been tagged in, you can untag yourself. Removing tags with your name does not delete those photos but instead just makes it harder for your Facebook friends to find them.

  1. On the menu bar at the top of Facebook, click the small down arrow next to the question mark.
  2. Select Activity Log.
  3. Choose Photos from the left pane.
  4. Click the checkbox for each image you no longer want to be tagged in.
  5. Choose the Report/Remove Tags button at the top.
  6. Click Untag Photos.
Was this page helpful?