Here's How to Upload Saved Photos or Videos to Snapchat

Share photos and videos stored on your device with your Snapchat friends

Snapchat

Carl Court / Getty Images

You can upload previously taken photos or videos to Snapchat through its Memories feature. So if you have a photo or a video that was snapped/recorded using your mobile device's camera and then saved to your camera roll (or other folder), it's possible to share it on Snapchat either as a message or as a story.

How to Access Snapchat Memories

Snapchat Memories allows you to both store snaps you take through the Snapchat app and upload existing photos/videos from your device. To access the Memories feature, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Snapchat app and navigate to the camera tab (if you're not on it already) by swiping left or right through the tabs.

  2. Tap the small image icon displayed directly beneath the Camera button.

A new tab labeled Memories will slide up from the bottom of the screen showing a grid of snaps if you saved any. If you didn't save any yet, this tab will be blank. 

How to Start Uploading Your Photos and Videos

1:06

To upload something from your device, you have to be familiar with navigating the Memories feature. Don't worry, it's easy!

  1. In Memories you should see two options: All and Camera Roll. Tap Camera Roll to switch to the correct tab.

  2. Select a photo or video to send as a message to friends or post as a story.

  3. Tap the menu in the upper right corner represented by three dots.

    Three iOS screens showing photo icon, photos from Camera Roll and three dot menu in Snapchat
  4. Choose Edit Snap (or Edit Photo).

  5. Make optional edits to your photo or video using the tools that appear for text, emoji, drawings, filters or cut-and-paste edits.

  6. Then you're finished making edits tap Done and then save the image using the prompts that appear.

    Three iOS screens from Snapchat showing Edit Photo, editing, and Done buttons
  7. You don't have to save the edited image to send it. If you want to send without saving, tape the blue send button to send your uploaded snap to friends as a message or to post it as a story.

If you try to upload a video that's longer than 10 seconds, Snapchat won't accept it and you won't be able to edit or send it. Since Snapchat has a 10-second limit to videos, you'll have to cut your video clip down to 10 seconds or less before uploading it to Snapchat.

You may also notice that some of the photos and videos you decide to upload to Snapchat look different than the ones you take directly through the app. For example, some may appear cropped with black edges all around them. Snapchat will do its best to make your photo or video look good enough to send, but because it wasn't taken directly through the app, it won't necessarily look perfect.

Third-Party Workaround Apps Blocked

Before the Memories feature was introduced, there used to be several apps available from third-party developers that claimed to help Snapchat users upload photos or videos to Snapchat. Snapchat has since banned third-party apps, stating that it's a violation of the company's Terms of Use.