How to Unblock Someone on Facebook

Not mad anymore? Bring friends back into your world with these tips

Two women becoming friends again on the Facebook social media smartphone app
Nobody should be angry for ever and unblocking someone is always an option.

 Ezra Bailey / Taxi

Feel like it's time to reconnect with a friend or family member you've blocked on Facebook? Here's how to unblock them quickly in the Facebook website and mobile app.

How to Unblock Someone on Facebook: Computer

  1. Open your usual internet browser such as Firefox, Microsoft Edge, or Google Chrome and go to the official Facebook website. If you're not logged in, log in now.
  2. In the top-right corner of the Facebook website should be a small arrow next to a question mark icon. Click on the arrow.
  3. A menu will appear with a list of options. Click on Settings.
  4. On the next page, look at the menu on the left side of the screen and click on Blocking. This will take you to a list of all of the Facebook users you currently have blocked.
  5. Find the person you wish to unblock in the list and click on Unblock next to their name.

How to Unblock Someone on Facebook: Mobile

  1. Open up the official Facebook app on your iOS or Android smartphone or tablet. Login if you haven't already.
  2. Look for the menu with four icons on it. This menu will either be at the top of the screen or the bottom depending on the device you're using and the version number of the app. The four icons look like a website, two people, a bell, and three horizontal lines. Click on the three horizontal lines icon.
  3. A menu will appear with a wide variety of links and options. Scroll down to Settings & Privacy and tap on it to expand another menu.
  4. Tap on Account Settings.
  5. Tap on Blocking.
  6. From the list of blocked users, find the person you wish to unblock and tap on the Unblock button next to their name. They will now be unblocked.

What Happens When You Unblock Someone on Facebook?

Unblocking someone on Facebook reverses the initial block you made on their account. You won't be Facebook friends after unblocking them though so both of you will see each other's posted content and profiles as if you were complete strangers. As such, they will be able to see your public posts, direct message you, and send you a friend request.

What You Need to Do After Unblocking Someone on Facebook

Nothing really needs to be done after unblocking someone however if you want to be Facebook friends again, you will need to send them a friend request which they will need to approve. They can also send you a friend request which you can approve if that is preferred.

If You Block or Unblock Someone On Facebook, Do They Know?

The target of a block or unblock on Facebook receives no notification of either happening to their account. The only way they can find out that they're blocked is if they try to search for your account (your name will be hidden from them in the search results) or visit your Facebook profile directly (they will be unable to view it). They may also eventually realize that they're not seeing your posts in their Facebook feed and put two and two together.

Why Do People Unblock Friends on Facebook?

There are two main reasons for unblocking someone on Facebook.

  • The initial blocking could have been a mistake. Sometimes Facebook users block the wrong person due to getting them confused with someone else with a similar name. Young children could have also gotten their hands on mom or dad's smartphone and gone on a Facebook blocking spree.
  • The drama is over. It's hard to stay mad at a friend or family member forever and sometimes people want to reconnect with those they've kicked out of their lives months or years before.

Is Unblocking the Same as Unfriending and Unfollowing?

Unblocking is very different from unfriending and unfollowing. Unblocking refers to the reversal of the blocking process, essentially giving a Facebook user access to your public content and profile again. Unfriending someone on Facebook removes them as a friend while unfollowing maintains a friendship status with a Facebook friend but allows you to not see their posts in your feed.