How to Block Someone on Facebook

Send that annoying friend to the Facebook doghouse

A woman about to block someone on the Facebook mobile phone app
An internet troll giving you a hard time? Block them on Facebook ASAP.

 siphotography / Moldova

Blocking someone on Facebook can be an effective way to protect yourself from toxic individuals, harassment, or people you simply don't wish to communicate with. Here's how to block a Facebook user and what you need to know about the entire process.

How to Block Someone on Facebook: Computer

  1. Open your preferred internet browser on your computer or smartphone and go to the official Facebook website. Alternatively, you may also open the Facebook app on your smartphone or tablet.
  2. Navigate to the Facebook profile of the person you wish to block. An easy way to do this is by searching for their name in the search bar at the top of the Facebook website and app.
  3. Once on the person's profile page, click on the ellipsis (three dots) next to the Message button.
  4. A menu with a list of options will pop up. Click on Block.
  5. You will be given the option to either cancel your block or continue with it. To confirm your block request, tap on Block once again. That person will now be blocked.

How to Block Someone on Facebook: Mobile

  1. Open the official Facebook app on any iOS or Android smartphone or tablet. If you haven't aready, make sure to login.
  2. Tap on the search bar at the top of the app and type in the name of the person you wish to block. Find the correct account in the search results and tap on them.
  3. On the user's Facebook profile, find the three menu items under their profile picture and click on the ellipsis icon with the word More underneath it.
  4. A menu will pop up with a list of options. Click on Block.
  5. The app will ask you to confirm your request. Click on Block once more to block the individual.

What Does Blocking Someone on Facebook Do?

Blocking a user on Facebook essentially prevents them from communicating with you and seeing your content while also hiding all of their content from you. A blocked user will be unable to poke you, invite you to events, send you a direct message, or view details on your profile.

Who Can I Block on Facebook?

Anyone on Facebook can block any other user whether they're a friend, family member, or a complete stranger. You can block Facebook users who are your Facebook friend, those who may be following your public posts, or even those who aren't connected to you at all.

Why Do People Block Others on Facebook?

There is no one reason for why people block others on the Facebook social network. Here are some of the more common motivators.

  • Stalking is unfortunately very much a reality for some Facebook users and blocking those involved is an efficient way of preventing them from seeing your content and sending you private messages.
  • Harassment and bullying can also be a problem for some Facebook users and blocking can be an effective tool for offering the victim some protection.
  • A real-world, offline, falling-out between a friend or family member can often result in an individual being unfriended on Facebook. As an unfriended user can still see public Facebook posts and send you direct messages, a major deterioration of a relationship can also result in a block so as to prevent all potential future interactions with the person.

Do Blocked Facebook Users Know They're Blocked?

People who get blocked on Facebook do not receive a notification or message telling them that they've been blocked. They only way they can discover that they've been blocked is if they navigate to your Facebook profile. When they do so, they will find out that they can no longer see any of your posted content and will be unable to send you a friend request or direct message.

For people who don't think to visit your Facebook profile, it can literally take them years to realise that you've blocked them.

Can I Unblock People on Facebook?

If you've accidentally blocked someone on Facebook or have changed your mind about a block, you can unblock them very quickly by viewing your Blocking list in Settings on the Facebook website or app and tapping Unblock next to their name.

It's important to note though that while the person involved will not be notified of the blocking and unblocking, if you want to be Facebook friends again, you will need to send them a new friend request from their profile which they will have to manually approve.

Is Blocking the Same as Unfriending or Unfollowing?

Blocking, unfriending, and unfollowing are all completely separate methods for restricting exposure to specific individuals on Facebook.

Unfollowing a person or page on Facebook simply prevents their posts from appearing in your feed. It is possible to unfollow someone's posts while still maintaining a friendship connection for direct messages and events. Likewise, you can still like a Facebook page and unfollow its updates so you don't see them in your feed.

Unfriending someone on Facebook removes their posts from your feed and prevents them from seeing any of your non-public posts. They can still message you but their communications will be filtered into your secondary Message Requests inbox and not your primary one.

Blocking prevents someone from seeing all of your posts, even public ones, and they won't be able to message you at all. You will also cease to see their content in your feed.