Delete or Deactivate Facebook: What's the Difference?

What to Know About Your Facebook Account Settings

Man using tablet
Alistair Berg/Digital Vision/Getty Images

If you've decided to take a break from Facebook, you have options to deactivate or delete your account. So the real question is, do you want to leave Facebook for good or just temporarily?

Why Delete or Deactivate Facebook?

Whatever your reasons for wanting to delete or deactivate your Facebook profile, they're your own. Consider though that there are some things that you can do first before taking the drastic measure of deleting or deactivating your Facebook account. Here are some common reasons people delete or deactivate their Facebooks:

  • Your account has been hacked
  • You've attracted a Facebook stalker
  • It's just too much drama
  • You're bored
  • You have privacy concerns
  • You're spending too much time on Facebook
  • You plan to be away from your account for a long time and can't maintain it

What to Consider Before Deleting or Deactivating Facebook

Before taking the drastic measure of deleting or deactivating your Facebook profile, consider they important facts:

  • There are ways to deal with a Facebook stalker.
  • Facebook has step-by-step instructions to help you if your Facebook has been hacked.
  • People on Facebook can be blocked.
  • Privacy settings can be changed and adapted to whatever you need them to be.
  • News Feed and Profile settings can be changed to make Facebook any way you want it.
  • Keeping strangers away is easy as can be.
  • Using Facebook can be about making friends, hiding friends, and lots of other things.

Deactivating Facebook: What Does and Doesn't Happen?

If you aren't sure whether you'll return to Facebook or if you know you definitely will return one day, deactivation is the clear choice. When you deactivate your Facebook account, all your information immediately disappears from Facebook. That means that all your friends on Facebook and everyone else will no longer be able to access your personal Facebook page.

All your information is saved, though. Facebook does this as a courtesy in case you change your mind and decide to come back at a later time. All your profile information including your friends, photos, and everything else will be just the way you left it.

To deactivate your account temporarily:

  1. Click the down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page. (Located just to the right of the Help button.)

  2. Select Settings from the drop-down menu.

  3. Click General in the left column

  4. Select Manage account.

  5. Scroll down and click Deactivate your account.

When you are ready to reactivate your account, just log in to Facebook and everything is restored. It is also restored if you use your Facebook account to log in somewhere else. You'll need access to the email address and password to reactivate the account.

Deleting Facebook: What Does and Doesn't Happen?

When you delete your Facebook account, all your information is gone for good. There's no turning back or changing your mind. This is not a decision to take lightly. When you are sure, go to the Facebook Delete My Account page and click Delete My Account.